Friday, February 6, 2015

2015 Sprint Unlimited Facts

By the Numbers: Sprint Unlimited:
.013 - Margin of victory in seconds by Kyle Busch over Tony Stewart in 2012, the closest margin in Sprint Unlimited history.
.058 - Margin of victory in seconds by Kurt Busch over Jamie McMurray in 2011, the second closest margin in Sprint Unlimited history.
.08 - Margin of victory in seconds by Dale Earnhardt over Sterling Marlin in 1995, the third closest margin in Sprint Unlimited history.
1 - Laps led by Rusty Wallace (1998), Neil Bonnett (1983-84), Dale Earnhardt (1980), Dale Jarrett (2000 and 2004) and Kevin Harvick (2009) in the Sprint Unlimited races they won.
2 - The starting position that has produced the most Sprint Unlimited wins (five).
2.75 - Average finish by Dale Earnhardt, best by any driver with multiple starts.
5 - Drivers who have won the event in their first appearance (Buddy Baker, 1979; Dale Earnhardt, 1980; Jeff Gordon, 1994; Dale Jarrett, 1996; Denny Hamlin, 2006).
6 - Number of Sprint Unlimited wins by Dale Earnhardt, the series leader.
7 - Number of fewest starters in the field for the Sprint Unlimited (1981).
9 - Number of races led, most since race began in 1979 (Dale Earnhardt Jr.)
11 - Number of starts before winning, most since race began in 1979 (Rusty Wallace and Mark Martin).
14 - Number of different leaders in the 2009 event, most since race began in 1979.
20 - Number of wins by Chevrolet in the Sprint Unlimited, leads all manufacturers.
21 - Most consecutive starts in the Sprint Unlimited by Jeff Gordon (1994-2014).
27 - Kevin Harvick's starting position in 2009, the lowest by a race winner in the event's history.
28 - Number of lead changes in the 2011 event, highest number since race began in 1979.
44 - Laps led by Greg Biffle in 2005, the most by a driver who did not win the event.
47 - Laps led by Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 2008, the most in a single Sprint Unlimited.
124.095 mph - The slowest average speed of the race for the Sprint Unlimited was last season's event won by Kyle Busch.
197.802 mph - The fastest average speed of the race for the Sprint Unlimited was in 1987 won by Bill Elliott.

The Sprint Unlimited Manufacturer Recap:
Manufacturer, Victories, Last Victory - Driver
Chevrolet, 21, 2013 - Kevin Harvick
Ford, 7, 2004 - Dale Jarrett
Toyota, 3, 2014 - Denny Hamlin
Buick, 2, 1982 - Bobby Allison
Oldsmobile, 2, 1980 - Dale Earnhardt
Pontiac, 2, 2002 - Tony Stewart
Dodge, 1, 2011 - Kurt Busch

Sprint Unlimited format unveiled: 
NASCAR announced that the season-opening 75-lap Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 14, will be split into two segments. A competition caution at lap 25 will separate the segments in the non-points event, scheduled for an 8:15pm/et start (live on FOX, Motor Racing Network Radio, and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). 
New this year, select fans will be paired with each crew chief for a random drawing to determine starting and pit road positions. The drawings will take place on Friday, Feb. 13 at the FDOT Main Stage inside the Sprint FANZONE beginning at 3:30pm. The field of 25 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers will include 2014 Coors Light Pole Award winners, former Sprint Unlimited race winners and Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full time in 2014, and all 16 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers from 2014. If an eligible driver does not enter the race, the open position will be filled based on 2014 Championship driver points. The first five provisional drivers, respectively, are #15-Clint Bowyer, #27-Paul Menard, Marcos Ambrose, #13-Casey Mears, and #17-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

No comments: