Saturday, February 21, 2015

2015 Daytona 500 Driver Chassis Selections

#3-Austin Dillon will pilot Chassis No. 493 in the Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway. This is a new DOW Chevrolet SS that will also be utilized for Thursday's Duels.

#4-Kevin Harvick will utilize Chassis No. 814 in the Daytona 500 and was built in 2014 and finished fifth in the 2014 Sprint Unlimited and served as the backup for both races at Talladega in 2014.

#5-Kasey Kahne: Crew chief Keith Rodden has selected Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 5-856 for Sunday's Daytona 500. Notably, Kahne drove the car to finishes of eighth place and 12th place in two races at Talladega in 2014. He also piloted the chassis at Daytona in July 2014.

#10-Danica Patrick: will drive Chassis No. 919 which is a brand-new racecar that has only been tested in the wind tunnel since being built.

#14-Tony Stewart: Chassis No. 14-836 was a brand new car in 2014 and it saw limited action. Its debut came during preseason testing Jan. 9-10 at Daytona and its only race came in May at Talladega where it started 12th and finished 43rd after being collected in a multicar crash on lap 137. It has fresh Chevrolet SS sheet metal and has logged countless hours in the wind tunnel in preparation for its second career start in the Budweiser Duel qualifying race for the 57th Daytona 500.

#15-Clint Bowyer: Chassis No. 793 serves as the primary chassis for Bowyer in the Sprint Unlimited. This is a new chassis. Chassis No. 811 serves as the back-up chassis. This chassis raced at Talladega in October, finishing 3rd and at Daytona in July, finishing 9th.

#17-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: primary chassis (no longer posting chassis numbers in PR's) is a new chassis.

#24-Jeff Gordon: Crew chief Alan Gustafson, a native of nearby Ormond Beach, Florida, has selected Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 24-887 for Sunday's race. The chassis has been raced twice, with Gordon piloting it at Talladega in October 2014 and at Daytona in July 2014.

#27-Paul Menard will utilize chassis No. 447 for both the Duel qualifying race and Daytona 500. This #27 PEAK/Menards Chevrolet SS was utilized during all three races in 2014 at the 2.5-mile superspeedway where Menard finished 10th in the Duel, 32nd in the Daytona 500 and 16th in the July event.

#31-Ryan Newman will pilot a brand new chassis, No. 494, in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season opener, the Daytona 500, at Daytona International Speedway. This #31 Caterpillar Chevrolet SS was utilized for the first time during last week's Daytona 500 practice sessions.

#32-Bobby Labonte Crew Chief Clinton Cram will be bringing chassis 689 to serve as the primary car. This chassis previously ran in all four restrictor plate races in 2014 with Terry Labonte. Chassis 650 will serve as the backup car, which previously ran in the fall event at Talladega in 2013.

#33-Ty Dillon will pilot chassis No. 482 for the 57th running of the Daytona 500. This newly prepared Chevrolet SS saw track action for the first time last weekend during practice and qualifying.

#48-Jimmie Johnson: For the Daytona 500, crew chief Chad Knaus selected Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 48-871, which is the Chevrolet SS Johnson raced at Talladega for both events in 2014 and in the 400-mile event last July at Daytona.

#55-Michael Waltrip: will drive primary chassis 789 which won the pole, finished 20th at Talladega in October with Brian Vickers behind wheel. The backup chassis will be 748 which finished 41st in 2014 Daytona 500 and 25th at Talladega in May with Waltrip.

#88-Dale Earnhardt Jr.: For the Daytona 500, crew chief Greg Ives has selected Chassis No. 88-872. Earnhardt most recently raced the chassis to a 14th-place finish at Daytona last July.


No comments: