Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Jeff Gordon Wins For Fifth Time at Pocono

Jeff Gordon won the 5-Hour Energy 500 Sprint Cup Series race at Pocono Raceway for his second win of 2011 and 84th win of his career. The win ties him with Darrell Waltrip and Bobby Allison for 3rd on the all-time win list in the series. The win was Gordon's fifth at Pocono, tying him with Bill Elliott for the most wins at the track.

Pole sitter Kurt Busch finished second followed by Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Juan Montoya, Matt Kesneth, Ryan Newman and Martin Truex Jr.

Denny Hamlin led the most laps with 76 but lost a tire late and finsihed 19th. Points leader Carl Edwards had a valve in the engine break and spent a lot of time/laps in the garage, finishing 37th and now only leads Johnson by 6 points.

There were 18 lead changes among 10 drivers; 4 cautions for 14 yellow flag laps. The attendance is listed as 90,000, down from 105,000 last June.

No comments: