Saturday, October 19, 2013

Talladega Driver Ratings Following All Practice

Micah Roberts‘ Top-10 Driver Ratings 
Camping World RV Sales 500
Talladega Superspeedway
Sunday, October 20, 2013 -  11:16 a.m. PT

Rating    Driver     Odds       Practice 1*  Practice 2  ‘Dega May** Daytona July**

 1. Matt Kenseth 10/1                12th            17th              8th                 33rd 
Won this race last season; been fast in all plate races, led 142 of 192 laps in May race.
 2. Jimmie Johnson 10/1           11th             1st               5th                  1st 
Two-time winner; only driver to finish top-5 in all three plate races, including Daytona sweep.
 3. Brad Keselowski 15/1           13th            18th            15th                 21st 
Two-time winner, the last in May, 2012. Also site of his first career win in 2009, 12.6 average finish.
 4. Carl Edwards 18/1                 5th             12th              3rd                 29th 
Doesn’t have any plate race wins, but has turned himself into a very good driver on these tracks.
 5. Jeff Gordon 10/1                   20th             9th             11th                 34th 
Six-time winner, the last in a 2007 sweep; 15 top-5 finishes, will be making 42nd start Sunday.
 6. Kevin Harvick 10/1                34th            DNP           40th                 3rd 
2010 winner with 16.4 average finish in 25 starts; using new chassis, needed just 10 laps of practice.
 7. Clint Bowyer 15/1                  21st            DNP           18th                 4th 
Two-time winner, 16.3 average finish in 15 starts; using fourth-place chassis from Daytona (July).
 8. Kyle Busch 10/1                    28th            DNP           37th                12th 
2008 winner and 2012 runner-up, but has felt wrath of track more than most: 22.9 average finish.
 9. Denny Hamlin 25/1               15th              3rd             34th                36th 
Third-place in 2008; led 20 laps at Daytona (July) and has benefit of driving Gibbs plate race car.
10. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 10/1         8th             10th            17th                  8th 
Five-time winner, the last in 2004, 15.1 average finish; using runner-up Daytona 500 chassis.

* Qualifying rained out, starting lineup set by practice 1 order of finish.

** Results from the past two restrictor plate races run: 2013 Aaron’s 499 at Talladega and Coke Zero 400 at Daytona.

Odds courtesy of the LVH Super Book.

Micah Roberts, a former sports book director, has been setting NASCAR lines in Las Vegas since 1995. For more Roberts insights on the race, go to The Linemakers on or follow on Twitter: MicahRoberts7. 

No comments: