Monday, November 8, 2010

Phoenix Odd & Ends: Kobalt Tools 500

compiled by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media Services

·         Construction was completed in January 1964.The facility consisted of a one-mile oval and a 2.5-mile road course.
·         Alan Kulwicki won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix on Nov. 6, 1988.
·         The first spring race was held on April 23, 2005 and also the first night race, which was won by Kurt Busch.
·         There have been 28 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix International Raceway, one per season from 1988-2004 and two each season since.
·         Geoffrey Bodine won the first pole in 1988.
·         There have been 18 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman with four.
·         Ryan Newman and Jeff Gordon are the only drivers to win consecutive poles. Newman won three straight (2002-04), while Gordon won the fall of 2006 and spring of 2007.
·         There have been 20 different race winners, led by Jimmie Johnson, with four. Johnson has won four of the last six races. Mark Martin (spring 2009) and Ryan Newman (spring 2010) won the other races in that span.
·         The race has been won from the pole three times: Jeff Gordon (spring 2007), Jimmie Johnson (fall 2008) andMark Martin (spring 2009).
·         The race has been won from a top-10 starting position in 14 of 28 events.
·         Denny Hamlin won his first career pole in November 2005. AJ Allmendinger won his first career pole earlier this season.
·         Ricky Rudd won the 1995 race from the 29th-place starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started.
·         Mark Martin has 12 top-five finishes, more than any other driver. Martin (8.7) and Jimmie Johnson (4.9) are the only active drivers who average a top-10 finish.
·         Three of the last four races have ended with a margin of victory under one second.
·         Two perfect Driver Ratings of 150.0 have been recorded at Phoenix. Kurt Busch did it with his win in April of 2005, and Kevin Harvick did it in November of 2006.
Phoenix International Raceway Data
Race: 35 of 36 (11-14-10)
Track Size: 1 mile
·     Banking/1 and 2: 11 degrees
·     Banking/3 and 4: 9 degrees
·     Banking/Frontstretch: 3 degrees
·     Banking/Backstretch: 9 degrees
·     Frontstretch: 1,179 feet
·     Backstretch: 1,551 feet

Driver Rating at Phoenix 

Jimmie Johnson            123.7
Mark Martin                   102.3
Jeff Gordon                  101.1
Kurt Busch                    98.7
Carl Edwards                98.6
Greg Biffle                    96.2
Tony Stewart                 96.2
Denny Hamlin                95.2
Kyle Busch                   94.8
Kevin Harvick                94.6
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-10 races (11 total) at Phoenix.
Qualifying/Race Data
2009 pole winner: Martin Truex Jr. (135.120 mph, 26.643 seconds)
2009 race winner: Jimmie Johnson (110.486 mph, 11-15-09)
Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman (135.854 mph, 26.499 seconds, 11-5-04)
Track race record: Tony Stewart (118.132 mph, 11-7-99)
Pit Window: Approximately 70-78 laps, based on fuel mileage.
NASCAR in Arizona
·         There have been 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Arizona.
·         30 drivers in NASCAR national series history have their home state recorded as Arizona.
·         There have been no race winners from Arizona in NASCAR’s three national series.


No comments: