Friday, November 5, 2010

Sadler's on Pole at Texas; His First Pole Since 2006

Associated Press

Elliott Sadler has won his first Sprint Cup pole in more than four years with a dominating run in Texas.

Sadler zipped around the high-banked 1 1/2-mile track at 195.397 mph Friday, nearly 2 mph better than front-row partner Greg Biffle.

Sadler's Cup future is uncertain after Richard Petty Motorsports switched his primary sponsor to Marcos Ambrose for next year. Sadler hasn't been on the pole since the 2006 spring race in Talladega. His last win was Sept. 5, 2004, in California.

Points leader Jimmie Johnson qualified 17th for the race Sunday. He's locked in a tight battle for the championship with Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick. Harvick is 26th on the starting grid, and Hamlin 30th.

AAA Texas 500 Starting Lineup

No comments: