Saturday, November 20, 2010

Final Homestead-Miami Driver Ratings Following All Practice Sessions

Micah Roberts Top 10 Driver Ratings
Ford 400
Homestead-Miami Speedway
Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 10:19 am (PDT)

Rating    Driver     Odds   Practice 1  Qualifying   Practice 2   Practice 3

 1. Carl Edwards 8/1           1st               2nd              7th                 6th  
2008 winner with track best 6.5 average finish. Fastest average speeds in practice 2.      
 2. Jeff Burton 30/1            33rd             14th             2nd                1st      
Runner-up in 2009 race; using same car that posted top five finishes at Atlanta and Dover.
 3. Kyle Busch 8/1              2nd              33rd             1st                17th      
Career best of eighth in 2009 race; using chassis that led final two practices at Texas.
 4. Jeff Gordon 20/1            6th              11th             3rd                 7th      
Only track on tour he hasn’t won at; 9.5 average finish in 11 starts with 5 top five finishes
 5. Denny Hamlin 5/1         30th             37th              6th                 4th      
Won this race in 2009, third two other times; using winning Texas chassis from two weeks ago.
 6. Jamie McMurray 25/1    5th               3rd              8th                5th 
Terrific practice sessions using winning chassis from Charlotte; career best of third in 2008.      
 7. Greg Biffle 8/1               23rd             27th              4th                9th      
Won this race from 2004-06; Great practices despite losing primary car in Friday’s practice.
 8. Jimmie Johnson 4/1      3rd                6th              11th              22nd      
First time since 2005 he’ll have to race to win at Homestead; using Fontana car that finished third.
 9. Kevin Harvick 7/1          31st              28th            19th               29th    
Finished a series best second and third last two years using the COT; new car this week.
10. Martin Truex Jr. 40/1    9th               25th            22nd               3rd 
11.8 average finish in five career starts; third best average speeds in practice 2.              

Note: Since 1975, the first season of the current points system, only two drivers have overcome a deficit in the season finale to win the title -- Richard Petty in 1979 and Alan Kulwicki in 1992.

Odds courtesy of the Las Vegas Hilton Super Book.

Micah Roberts, a former Race and Sports Book Director, has been setting NASCAR lines in Las Vegas since 1995. He currently writes for multiple publications covering all sports. He can be reached at

No comments: