Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Dale Earnhardt Jr. looking for first All-Star race win since rookie season

Dale Earnhardt Jr. is 12/1 to win All-Star Race
No. 88 Mtn Dew Baja Blast Chevrolet SS / Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Driver: Dale Earnhardt Jr. 
Hometown: Kannapolis, North Carolina
Age: 40 
Resides: Mooresville, North Carolina

Dale Earnhardt Jr. on the All-Star Race

"There is a lot of money on the line this weekend but there is a lot to be learned, too. You pay attention to what you are feeling in your car so you can use those notes for next week. There is a lot to be learned and hopefully we will get our car going pretty quick."

BAJA BLAST: Dale Earnhardt Jr. will drive a black and teal No. 88 Mtn Dew Baja Blast paint scheme for this weekend’s Sprint All-Star race. Mtn Dew Baja Blast combines the exhilarating taste of Dew with a blast of tropical lime. It’s back in bottles and cans for a limited time. Join the conversation using the hashtag #BajaBlast.

SPRINT ALL-STAR RACE: Earnhardt qualified for the Sprint All-Star Race by winning a NASCAR Sprint Cup event during the 2014 and 2015 seasons as well as being a former NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race winner. Earnhardt won four races during the 2014 season and most recently won at Talladega Superspeedway this month. He won the Sprint All-Star Race in 2000.

ALL-STAR VICTORY: Earnhardt made history on May 20, 2000, when he became the first rookie to win the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Earnhardt led two laps and beat veteran Dale Jarrett to the finish line by 1.295 seconds.

ALL-STAR STATS: In 15 appearances in the non-points All-Star event, Earnhardt averages an eighth-place finish. Last year, Earnhardt lined up sixth for the 90-lap shootout and crossed the finish line fourth.

ALL-STAR PIT CREW: Qualifying for the All-Star Race will include a three-lap, single-car run with a mandatory four-tire pit stop on Saturday. The No. 88 pit crew includes jackman Nick Covey (Livermore, California), front-tire carrier Dustin Lineback (Greensboro, North Carolina), front-tire changer David Mayo (Byron, Georgia), rear-tire changer Joe Slingerland (Inverness, Florida), gas man Matt Tyrrell (Denver) and rear-tire carrier Rowdy Harrell (Tuscaloosa, Alabama).

CHASSIS CHOICE: This weekend, crew chief Greg Ives will unload Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 88-882. Earnhardt most recently raced the chassis to a 20th-place finish at Charlotte in October 2014.

2015 Season
  • 5th in standings
  • 11 starts
  • 1 win
  • 0 pole positions
  • 6 top-five finishes
  • 7 top-10 finishes
  • 104 laps led
  • 552 starts
  • 24 wins
  • 13 pole positions
  • 133 top-five finishes
  • 231 top-10 finishes
  • 7,951 laps led
All-Star Career 
  • 15 starts
  • 1 win
  • 0 pole positions
  • 5 top-five finishes
  • 12 top-10 finishes
  • 44 laps led
 - Hendrick Motorsports

No comments: