Sunday, August 8, 2010

Montoya Dominates at The Glen; Wins First Race Since Sonoma 2007

Juan Pablo Montoya held off the mid-race charges of a determined Marcos Ambrose and won the Sprint Cup road race at Watkins Glen International Sunday, capturing his first Cup race since 2007.

Montoya won in style, stretching out his lead over Ambrose to more than three seconds after a battle into the first turn on the final restart with 16 laps to go.

"This is what it's all about, right here," Montoya said on his radio after taking the checkered flag.

"Juan, you drove the race of your career," crew chief Brian Pattie said. "It was tremendous. Zero mistakes."

Kurt Busch battled past Ambrose late in the race to finish second. Ambrose was third, followed by AJ Allmendinger and Carl Edwards. Jamie McMurray was sixth, followed by Tony Stewart, Kyle Busch, Jeff Burton and Jeff Gordon. Points leader Kevin Harvick finished 11th and maintained his points lead.

"It's about time to get another one," Montoya said in victory lane.

Ambrose, who started 11th, battled to the front and did get past Montoya on lap 40. "I just wore everything out trying to get him and I finally got him," Ambrose said. But he lost the lead to Montoya on a subsequent restart on lap 46 when his car wheel-hopped going into turn one.

Watkins Glen Final Results

No comments: