Tuesday, June 22, 2010

New Hampshire Odds & Ends: Lenox Industrial Tools 301

compiled by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media Services

·         Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was Aug. 13, 1989.
·         The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on July 11, 1993.
·         Renamed New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2008.
·         There have been 30 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since.
·         Four drivers have competed in all 30 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.
·         Mark Martin won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole.
·         Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
·         There have been 16 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman (four).
·         20 different drivers have won, led by Jeff Burton (four).
·         Last season, Joey Logano became the all-time youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup race winner at 19 years, one month and four days.
·         Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004) are the only drivers that have posted season sweeps. Those are also the only back-to-back winners.
·         Roush Fenway Racing and Hendrick Motorsports have each won seven races, more than any other organization.
·         The deepest in the field that a New Hampshire race winner started was 38th, by Jeff Burton in 1999.
·         There have been four winners who started from the pole. The last race winner to win from the pole was Clint Bowyer in 2007. He scored a perfect Driver Rating of 150.0 that event.
·         There have been 10 consecutive different race winners.
·         Jeff Burton led all 300 laps raced in the 2000 fall race.
·         Five drivers got there first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at New Hampshire: Joe Nemechek (1999), Robby Gordon (2001), Ryan Newman (2002), Clint Bowyer (2007) and Joey Logano (2009).
NASCAR in New Hampshire
·         There have been 30 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in New Hampshire, all at NHMS.
·         13 drivers in NASCAR’s three national series (all-time) are listed as New Hampshire natives.
·         There has been one race winner from New Hampshire in NASCAR’s three national series: Jamie Aube. Aube, from Manchester, won a NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Oxford Plains Speedway in 1987.
New Hampshire Motor Speedway Data
Race #: 17 of 36 (6-27-10)
Track Size: 1.058 miles
Race Length: 317.4 miles (300 laps)
Banking/Corners: Variable at 2 & 7 degrees
Banking/Straights: 1 degree

Driver Rating at New Hampshire
Tony Stewart                 114.9 
Jeff Gordon                  108.0
Jimmie Johnson            106.3
Denny Hamlin                102.7
Dale Earnhardt Jr.         100.7
Mark Martin                   98.0
Kevin Harvick                93.2
Kurt Busch                    91.6
Jeff Burton                   91.5
Ryan Newman               90.6
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2009 races (10 total) at New Hampshire.
Qualifying/Race Data
2009 pole winner: None (inclement weather)
2009 race winner: Joey Logano, 97.497 mph, 6-28-09)
Track qualifying record: Juan Pablo Montoya (133.431 mph, 28.545 sec., 9-20-09)
Track race record: Jeff Burton (117.134 mph, 7-13-97)
Estimated Pit Window: 70-78 laps

No comments: