Monday, May 3, 2010

NASCAR Notes of Interest Through 10 Races This Season

NASCAR Media Services
The 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has reached an even 10 races, and the numbers show it’s been a storyline-filled one. Front and center: the record-breaking race at Talladega Superspeedway, which saw 88 lead changes among 29 drivers – both all-time series highs.
Some other figures to ponder:
-          There have been seven different race winners. In all of last season, there were 14.
-          Eight of the 10 races have finished with a margin of victory under one second. Talladega’s MOV was .011 seconds, the eighth-closest since the inception of electronic scoring in 1993.
-          The average margin of victory through 10 races: .661 seconds.
-          41 different drivers have led at least one lap.
-          28 different drivers have scored at least one top-10 finish this season. Aussie Marcos Ambrose became No. 28 with his ninth-place run at Richmond Saturday night.
-          There has been an average of 13 different leaders and 33 lead changes per race.
-          Some huge Loop Data stats, competition-wise: an average of 54 green-flag passes for the lead, and 4,201 green flag passes.

No comments: