Tuesday, May 18, 2010

NASCAR All-Star Race Odds & Ends From Charlotte

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race: compiled by Mike Forde - NASCAR Media Services 
  • There have been 25 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Races
  • The first All-Star Race was in 1985
  • 24 have been held at Charlotte Motor Speedway. In 1986, the event was held at Atlanta Motor Speedway, and won by Bill ElliottThat season was also the first year for what is now known as the Sprint Showdown.
  • 83 drivers have run in at least one All-Star Race.
  • There have been 17 different winners of the All-Star Race.
  • Terry Labonte and Mark Martin have each participated in 20 races, more than any other driver.
  • The race has featured a field that ranged from 10 drivers in 1986 to 27 in 2002.
  • Dale Earnhardt (1987, 1990 and 1993) and Jeff Gordon (1995, 1997 and 2001) are the only three-time winners of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.
  • Davey Allison (1991 and 1992), Terry Labonte (1988 and 1999), Mark Martin (1998 and 2005) and Jimmie Johnson (2003 and 2006) are the only other drivers to post multiple victories in the All-Star Race. Allison is the only driver to ever win consecutive All-Star events.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2000) and Ryan Newman (2002) are the only drivers to win the All-Star Race in their rookie season.                                      
  • Jeff Gordon is the youngest winner of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at 23 years, 9 months and 18 days (1995). Mark Martin is the oldest at 46 years, 4 months and 12 days (2005).
  •  Jimmie Johnson has a 6.0 average finish in eight appearances in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, the best of any active driver.
  • The NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race has been won from the pole position three times; all three came in consecutive years: Dale Earnhardt (1990) and Davey Allison (1991 and 1992).
  • The deepest in the field an All-Star Race winner has started was 27th, by Ryan Newman in 2002.
  • Hendrick Motorsports drivers have won six All-Star Races: Jeff Gordon (three), Jimmie Johnson (two) andTerry Labonte (one).
  • Five drivers have won the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race and the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in the same year: Darrell Waltrip (1985), Dale Earnhardt (1987, 1990, 1993), Rusty Wallace (1989), Jeff Gordon (1995, 1997, 2001) and Jimmie Johnson (2006).
Charlotte Motor Speedway Data
Track Size: 1.5 miles
·     Banking/Corners: 24 degrees
·     Banking/Straights: 5 degrees
·     Frontstretch: 1,980 feet
·     Backstretch: 1,500 feet

No comments: