Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Talladega Odds & Ends: Amp Energy 500

compiled by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media Services

·         Construction began on what was then known as the Alabama International Motor Speedway on May 23, 1968.
·         The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on Sept. 14, 1969.
·         The name changed to Talladega Superspeedway in 1989.
·         Fourth repaving completed on Sept. 19, 2006.
·         There have been 82 NASCAR Sprint Cup races since the track opened in 1969; two a year every year except the inaugural season, which had just one.
·         Richard Brickhouse won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
·         Bobby Isaac won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole in September 1969. Isaac won the first three poles there.
·         35 different drivers have won poles.
·         Bill Elliott leads all drivers with eight poles.
·         40 different drivers have posted victories, led by Dale Earnhardt Sr. (10); 18 drivers have won more than once.Kevin Harvick won his first Talladega race this past April.
·         Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers in victories, with six.
·         Hendrick Motorsports and Richard Childress Racing each have 10 wins, more than any other organization.
·         31 of 81 races have been won from a top-two starting position, including 13 from the pole; 23 have been won from a starting position outside the top 10. The most recent driver to win from the pole was Jeff Gordon in 2007 (spring).
·         The furthest back in the field a race winner started was 36th, by Jeff Gordon in 2000.
·         Mark Martin’s pace in the 1997 spring race set an all-time NASCAR Sprint Cup record for the fastest race ever. He won the caution-free race with an average speed of 188.354 mph and covered the 500-mile distance in two hours, 39 minutes and 18 seconds.
·         Dale Earnhardt Jr. had four consecutive victories (October 2001 through April 2003), the most ever by a driver there. Buddy Baker (three – May 1975 through May 1976) is the only other driver to win more than two consecutive races there.
·         Since the inception of electronic scoring in 1993, every race that has ended under green has had a margin of victory under half a second. In April, the MOV was 0.011 seconds, the second-closest margin at Talladega.

NASCAR In Alabama 
·         There have been 101 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Alabama.
·         65 drivers in NASCAR’s three national series (all-time) have their home state recorded as Alabama.
·         There have been seven race winners from Alabama in NASCAR’s three national series:
Bobby Allison
Davey Allison
Neil Bonnett
Donnie Allison
Red Byron
Steve Grissom
Rick Crawford
Talladega Superspeedway Data
Race #: 33 of 36 (10-31-10)
Track Size: 2.66 miles
·     Banking/Corners: 33 degrees
·     Banking/Frontstretch: 16.5 degrees
·     Banking/Backstretch: 2 degrees
·     Frontstretch: 4,300 feet
·     Backstretch: 4,000 feet

Driver Rating at Talladega

Denny Hamlin                95.9
Dale Earnhardt Jr.          93.3
David Ragan                  92.5
Tony Stewart                 89.0
Jeff Burton                     87.1
Jeff Gordon                    86.0
Joey Logano                  85.3
Kurt Busch                    85.0
Jamie McMurray            84.4
Jimmie Johnson             83.6
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2010 races (11 total) at Talladega.
Qualifying/Race Data
2009 pole winner: None (weather)
2009 race winner: Jamie McMurray, 157.213 mph, 11-1-09)
Track qualifying record: Bill Elliott (212.809 mph, 44.998 seconds, 4-30-87)
Track race record: Mark Martin (188.354 mph, 5-10-97)
Estimated Pit Window: Every 34-36 laps, based on fuel mileage

No comments: