Monday, September 8, 2014

How does the new Chase for the Sprint Cup work?

16 drivers ready to take their shot at winning Sprint Cup
NASCAR will launch a whole new playoff format when the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup begins Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway.

The elimination-based Chase is designed to create a Final Four-like showdown for the season finale Nov. 16 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

MORE: Chase grid: Outlook for all 16 drivers | Richmond Winners & Losers | Earnhardt celebrates, prepares with team

So how does the new Chase work? 

Here's a look:

How did drivers qualify for the Chase?
The field is 16 drivers. It includes the regular-season points leader, plus the next 15 drivers — as long as they’re in the top 30 in the standings and have attempted to qualify for each race — based on wins and points. There were 13 drivers, including regular-season points leader Jeff Gordon, who qualified by winning races, so the final three spots went to drivers based on points.

How are they seeded?
For the first round of the Chase, each driver gets three points for each regular-season win. They are then ranked by the normal tiebreaker in the standings — best finish. So among those with the same number of wins, the driver with the most second-place finishes would be the higher seed.

Read More Here.........Sporting News

No comments: