Saturday, July 27, 2013

Kurt Busch Fastest in Final Brickyard 400 Practice Session

Busch's best finish was fifth as rookie in 2001
If the top speeds in Saturday morning’s final Brickyard 400 practice session at Indianapolis Motor Speedway carry over to qualifying, then the new Gen-6 car will once again set a new track record, as the top-14 drivers in practice post speeds faster then the record of 186.293 mph set by Casey Mears on August 8, 2004.

The fastest of the 14 was Kurt Busch, who laid down a lap at 188.419 mph, one day after being the second fastest in Friday's first practice session. Kasey Kahne (187.895) who was second fastest, followed by 2000 Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya (187.477), four-time Brickyard 400 winner Jimmie Johnson (187.379) and Marcos Ambrose (187.106) coming in fifth with the strongest showing out of the Fords.

Rounding out the top-ten fastest drivers in the session were Kyle Busch (187.075 mph), four-time Brickyard 400 winner Jeff Gordon (186.916), Indiana natives -- and teammates -- Ryan Newman (186.765) and Tony Stewart (186.761), followed by 2003 Brickyard 400 winner Kevin Harvick (186.734).

Kahne had the fastest 10-consecutive lap average among the seven drivers that ran that many and Penske teammate Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski ran the most laps of the session with 32 each.

Practice 2 Speeds

No comments: