Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Driver Chassis Selections for 2013 Coke Zero 400 at Daytona

Stenhouse Jr. will be driving 2012 3rd-place Daytona chassis Biffle used 
#2-Brad Keselowski: Primary Chassis for Daytona is PRS-655 which is a new brand new chassis. The backup chassis is PRS-648 which was the backup chassis at Talladega in May.

#5-Kasey Kahne: Crew chief Kenny Francis has selected Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 5-703 for the Daytona race. Most recently, Kahne drove this chassis at the Daytona test back in January. In 2012, he drove this chassis at the 2.5-mile superspeedway's July event, and he finished seventh. In 2010, Kahne reached Victory Lane at Daytona when he won the second Budweiser Duel 150 qualifying race. In 19 points-paying starts at Daytona, Kahne has two top-five finishes and seven top-10s, including a runner-up result in the July 2010 race.

#9-Marcos Ambrose: The #9 Stanley team will bring superspeedway chassis No. 721 this weekend at Daytona. Ambrose has nine starts at the famed Daytona track. He posted his best finish of sixth in the summer event in 2009. The #9 Crew Chief Drew Blickensderfer is no stranger to victory lane at the Florida superspeedway. Blickensderfer has two wins under his belt. He visited victory lane for the 2009 Daytona 500 with Matt Kenseth and 2011 Coke Zero 400 with David Ragan. In his eight starts as crew chief, he has four top-fives, six top-10s and an average finish of 7.1.

#10-Danica Patrick will pilot chassis No. 10-573 spent time in the wind tunnel before debuting with Ryan Newman driving it for the #39 team in the Budweiser Shootout at Daytona in February 2010, when he started fourth and finished 19th after a late-race accident. Newman drove the car in the Shootout one year later and started eighth, led 18 laps and finished third. The car was then transferred to the No.10 team and Patrick made her Sprint Cup debut with the chassis in February 2012 in the 54th Daytona 500, which she started 29th and finished 38th after being involved in a multi-car accident early in the race. Since then, the car has been converted to a Chevrolet SS model and was tested by Patrick at Daytona this past February. The car served as a backup for the 55th Daytona 500 but was not pressed into service. It was then was tested by Patrick at a Goodyear tire test in April at Daytona. Since then, it has spent time in the wind tunnel getting prepared for the Coke Zero 400.

#16-Greg Biffle: and the Matt Puccia led #16 3M Ford Fusion team will bring primary chassis RK-798 which last ran at Talladega in 2012 and finished 6th. The backup chassis is RK-794, which last ran at Daytona in the Sprint Unlimited and finished 2nd. Biffle has 21 starts at Daytona, earning one win, three top-five and six top-10 finishes.

#17-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: and the #17 Fifth Third Bank Racing team will be using primary chassis RK-781, which raced numerous times by the #16 team in 2012 including a third-place finish in 2012 Daytona 500 and led 35 laps in the Coke Zero 400 last year. The backup chassis is RK-799 which last ran during Daytona test.

#22-Joey Logano: Primary Chassis for Daytona is PRS-652 which is a new chassis. The backup chassis is PRS-651 which races at Daytona in the Sprint Unlimited and finished 3rd.

#24-Jeff Gordon: chassis not reported on race preview. Overall, Gordon has six victories, three poles, 12 top-fives and 19 top-10's in 41 starts at the 2.5-mile track.

#27-Paul Menard will pilot chassis No. 406 at Daytona International Speedway. This #27 Rheem/Menards Chevrolet SS was previously run this season at Talladega Superspeedway and tested at Daytona in January and April earlier this year. Menard has 12 starts at Daytona International Speedway. His best start of first came in 2008 and best finish of sixth came in 2012. The Wisconsin native has completed 2,133 of 2,148 laps attempted (99.3%) at the famed superspeedway, leading 38 of them.

#29-Kevin Harvick: will pilot chassis No. 387 from the Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Sprint Cup Series stable in Saturday night's event at Daytona International Speedway. Harvick most recently drove this Budweiser Folds of Honor Chevrolet to Victory Lane following the Sprint Unlimited in February at Daytona. Since 2001, Harvick has made 24 starts at the 2.5-mile tri-oval, winning two point-paying events (2007 Daytona 500 and July 2010). The California racer has also collected two pole awards (July 2002 and July 2010), five top-five and 10 top-10 finishes, has completed 90.3% (3,815 of 4,225) laps contested and is credited with 178 laps led.

#31-Jeff Burton will race chassis No. 337 from the Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Sprint Cup Series stable this weekend at Daytona International Speedway. This #31 Kwikset Chevrolet, built specifically for superspeedway racing, was driven by Burton earlier this season at Talladega Superspeedway. Burton's has 39 starts at Daytona International Speedway with one win (July 2000), nine top-five and 11 top-10 finishes. Burton also scored the pole position for the 2006 Daytona 500 and has led 145 laps at the historic 2.5-mile superspeedway. In addition, he has a trophy from the 2011 Duel 150 qualifying race on his mantle.

#39-Ryan Newman will pilot Chassis 39-606 at Daytona , which has five combined starts at the two restrictor-plate tracks on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule three at Talladega and two at Daytona. In its five previous starts, the chassis' best results have come at Daytona in this race last year, when Newman qualified on the outside pole and finished fifth, and in the 2013 seasonopening Daytona 500, when it was called into service after the primary car suffered irreparable damage in the second Budweiser Duel. In that race, Newman overcame starting at the back of the field and aerodynamic issues to record another fifth-place finish. Since then, Chassis 39-606 underwent repairs and visited the wind tunnel last month in preparation for Saturday night's Coke Zero 400.

#43-Aric Almirola:: The #43 U.S. Air Force team will race the chassis No. 722 this weekend. The team raced the chassis in February's Sprint Unlimited expedition race. Almirola will make his ninth start, fifth in Cup, at his 'home track' this weekend. In his four Cup starts, he tallied a best finish of 13th earlier this season in the Daytona 500, and in four Nationwide starts, he posted one top-10 finish and won a pole.

#48-Jimmie Johnson: will drive chassis No. 764 at Daytona, which raced in 2013 in the Sprint Unlimited at Daytona and finished 15th and ran at May at Talladega and finished 5th. Chassis No. 756 serves as the backup

#88-Dale Earnhardt Jr.:crew chief Steve Letarte and the #88 team will unload Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 88-773 for Saturday's race. Earnhardt last raced this chassis to a 17th-place finish at Talladega Superspeedway in May and to a second-place finish in February at the Daytona 500. Earnhardt has 13 NASCAR wins at Daytona -- two in the Sprint Cup Series, six in the Nationwide Series, three during qualifying events and two during exhibition events. He has won the 2004 Daytona 500, the 2001 Pepsi 400, plus two Sprint Unlimiteds (2003 and 2008) and three Budweiser Duel qualifying races (2003, 2004 and 2008). Earnhardt won the four straight Nationwide events he entered between 2002 and 2004 at Daytona.

#99-Carl Edwards the #99 Subway team will be bringing chassis RK 829 to Daytona which was the car that wrecked in the Sprint Unlimited practice. The team sent RK 829 back to RFR headquarters for repairs and used it as the backup for the Daytona 500. The backup chassis is RK 835 which last ran at Talladega in May. In 17 NSCS starts at DIS, Edwards has achieved four top-five and eight top-10 finishes. Edwards' best finish at Daytona is second place, captured in 2011 at the Daytona 500 and in July of 2008.

- compiled by

No comments: