Monday, February 21, 2011

Phoenix Odds & Ends: Subway Fresh Fit 500k

At Phoenix International Raceway:
Sweet sunset in the desert
• Construction was completed in January 1964. The facility consisted of a one-mile oval and a 2.5-mile road
• Alan Kulwicki won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix on Nov. 6, 1988.
• The first spring race was held on April 23, 2005 and also the first night race, which was won by Kurt Busch.

• There have been 29 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix International Raceway, one per season from 1988-2004 and two each season since.
• Geoffrey Bodine won the first pole in 1988.
• There have been 18 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman with four.
• Ryan Newman and Jeff Gordon are the only drivers to win consecutive poles. Newman won three straight (2002-04), while Gordon won the fall of 2006 and spring of 2007.
• There have been 21 different race winners, led by Jimmie Johnson, with four.
• The race has been won from the pole four times: Jeff Gordon (spring 2007), Jimmie Johnson (fall 2008), Mark Martin (spring 2009) and Carl Edwards (fall 2010).
• The race has been won from a top-10 starting position in 15 of 29 events.
• Denny Hamlin won his first career pole at Phoenix in November 2005. AJ Allmendinger won his first career
pole there last April.
• Ricky Rudd won the 1995 race from the 29th-place starting position, the furthest back a race winner has
• Mark Martin has 12 top-five finishes, more than any other driver. Martin (8.6 average finish) is one of two active drivers who averaged a top-10 finish. Jimmie Johnson (4.9).
• Two perfect Driver Ratings of 150.0 have been recorded at Phoenix. Kurt Busch did it with his win in
April of 2005, and Kevin Harvick did it in November of 2006.

Phoenix International Raceway Data
Race: 2 of 36 (2-27-11)
Track Size: 1 mile
• Banking/1 and 2: 11 degrees
• Banking/3 and 4: 9 degrees
• Banking/Frontstretch: 3 degrees
• Banking/Backstretch: 9 degrees
• Frontstretch: 1,179 feet
• Backstretch: 1,551 feet

Johnson has the top rating in NASCAR's loop system at Phoenix
Driver Rating at Phoenix
Jimmie Johnson 122.6
Carl Edwards 101.7
Mark Martin 100.8
Jeff Gordon 99.8
Kurt Busch 99.3
Denny Hamlin 98.6
Kyle Busch 96.3
Greg Biffle 96.2
Tony Stewart 96.2
Kevin Harvick 95.2
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-10 races (12 total) at Phoenix.

Qualifying/Race Data
2010 pole winner: AJ Allmendinger (134.675 mph, 26.731 seconds)
2010 race winner: Ryan Newman (99.372 mph, 4-10-10)
Track qualifying record: Ryan Newman (135.854 mph, 26.499 seconds, 11-5-04)
Track race record: Tony Stewart (118.132 mph, 11-7-99)

NASCAR in Arizona
• There have been 34 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Arizona.
• 30 drivers in NASCAR national series history have their home state recorded as Arizona.
• There have been no race winners from Arizona in NASCAR’s three national series.

- Compiled by Ray Smith, NASCAR Media Services

Las Vegas Hilton Super Book Odds To Win Phoenix Race

No comments: