Friday, August 15, 2014

Jeff Gordon on the pole for fifth time at Michigan

Jeff Gordon will be starting from the pole for the fifth time at Michigan and 76th overall. He's using Brickyard chassis
                            Pure Michigan 400 Starting Lineup

Jeff Gordon won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Pure Michigan 400. In the process, the four-time series champion set a new track record in the final round of qualifying with a lap of 206.558 mph en route to nabbing his second straight Coors Light Pole Award.

The pole is his sixth at Michigan, second this season and 76th of his career. The track record was the 17th set this season in the Sprint Cup Series.

In addition, Gordon set the seventh-fastest pole speed ever in Sprint Cup Series history and the 199th career pole for Hendrick Motorsports.

Joining Gordon on the front row is Joey Logano, who posted a lap of 206.381 mph in the final round of qualifying. For Logano, it is his seventh front row start of the season.

Row 2 will be made up of Carl Edwards and Brian Vickers with Row 3 comprised of Brad Keselowski and Kevin Harvick.

All three Roush Fenway Racing cars qualified in the top 11 and all Richard Childress Racing cars qualified in the top 12. Ryan Newman grazed the wall in his final round run and will start 12th.

Notable drivers not to advance past the second round of qualifying: Kyle Larson, Danica Patrick and all three Joe Gibbs Racing cars.

No comments: