Monday, September 12, 2011

Chicagoland Odds & Ends: Geico 400

At Chicagoland Speedway:
·         Construction began in August 1999.
·         The first NASCAR Nationwide Series race was July 14, 2001.
·         The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race was held on July 15, 2001.
·         This weekend marks the first time Chicagoland Speedway will be included in the 10-race Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup – Sept. 18, 2011.
·         There have been 10 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Chicagoland Speedway.
·         12 drivers have competed in all 10 races.
·         Todd Bodine won the first pole.
·         There has been a different pole winner after every qualifying session (qualifying was canceled in 2008).
·         Kevin Harvick won the first two races; six drivers have won races, led by Harvick and Tony Stewart, each with two.
·         Kyle Busch won the 2008 race from the pole, the first time a driver won from the pole. It was also the only time a driver had won from a top-five starting position. 
·         Kevin Harvick won the 2002 race from the 32nd starting position, the deepest in the field that a race winner ever started at Chicago.
·         Only one starting position has multiple wins: 14th. Mark Martin won from the 14th starting position in 2009, as did Ryan Newman in 2003.
·         Jeff Gordon (8.6), Jimmie Johnson (10.0), Tony Stewart (9.5) and Brian Vickers (8.8) are active drivers who average a top-10 finish.
·         Five of the last six races have ended with a margin of victory under one second.
NASCAR in Illinois
·         There have been 12 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Illinois.
·         74 drivers all-time in NASCAR three national series have their home state recorded as Illinois.
·         There have been four race winners from Illinois in NASCAR’s three national series:
Fred Lorenzen
Tom Pistone
Justin Allgaier
Bobby Dotter
Erik Darnell
Chicagoland Speedway Data
Race #: 26 of 36 (9-18-11)
Track Size: 1.5 miles
Race Length: 400.5 miles (267 laps)
Banking/Corners: 18 degrees
Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees
Banking/Tri-Oval: 11 degrees

Driver Rating at Chicagoland
Jimmie Johnson 112.0
Tony Stewart 110.4
Brian Vickers 107.3
Matt Kenseth 102.4
Jeff Gordon 100.7
Kevin Harvick 98.5
Kyle Busch 98.3
Mark Martin 91.2
Clint Bowyer 90.8
Carl Edwards 89.4
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2011 races (6 total) at Chicagoland.
Qualifying/Race Data
2010 pole winner: Jamie McMurray, (183.542 mph, 29.421 seconds)
2010 race winner: David Reutimann, (145.138 mph, 7-10-10)
Track qualifying record: Jimmie Johnson (188.147 mph, 28.701 seconds, 7-8-05)
Track race record: David Reutimann, (145.138 mph, 7-10-10)
The Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
 ·         23 different drivers have made the Chase; 11 drivers in this year’s field have made a prior Chase, the only first-time Chase driver is Brad Keselowski.
·         In the 70 Chase races, Jimmie Johnson leads all drivers with 19 Chase wins. Carl Edwards is second, with eight.
·         Champion’s wins during each Chase:
o    2004: Kurt Busch, one win
o    2005: Tony Stewart, no wins
o    2006: Jimmie Johnson, one win
o    2007: Jimmie Johnson, four wins
o    2008: Jimmie Johnson, three wins
o    2009: Jimmie Johnson, four wins
o    2010: Jimmie Johnson, one win
·         Champion’s average finish during each Chase:
o    2004: Kurt Busch, 8.9
o    2005: Tony Stewart, 8.7
o    2006: Jimmie Johnson, 10.8
o    2007: Jimmie Johnson, 5.0
o    2008: Jimmie Johnson, 5.7
o    2009: Jimmie Johnson, 6.8
o    2010: Jimmie Johnson, 6.2
·         Jimmie Johnson is the only driver to make all eight editions of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
·         Three drivers have made seven Chases: Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth. Gordon missed in 2005; Stewart in 2006; Kenseth in 2009.
·         Jimmie Johnson is the only driver to average a top-10 finish in Chase races (8.1).
·         Four drivers have 20 or more top-five finishes during Chase races: Jimmie Johnson (40), Jeff Gordon (27), Carl Edwards (23), Greg Biffle (23), Matt Kenseth (21).
·         Nine drivers have 30 or more top-10 finishes during Chase races: Jimmie Johnson (54), Jeff Gordon (45), Kevin Harvick (38), Carl Edwards (37), Kurt Busch (34), Tony Stewart (34), Matt Kenseth (31), Greg Biffle (31), and Denny Hamlin (30).
·         Jimmie Johnson has the most laps led during the Chase (3,423). Matt Kenseth is second with 1,715.
·         Since the inception of Loop Data in 2005, Jimmie Johnson is the only driver with a Chase Driver Rating of over 100.0. He has a rating of 110.1. Jeff Gordon is second with a 98.4.
·         Jimmie Johnson’s average start during the Chase is 9.8. He has nine poles in the 70 Chase races, which is tied with Ryan Newman for most in the Chase.
·         There have been 13 races won by drivers who did not qualify for the Chase. The last to do so was Jamie McMurray, at Charlotte last year.


No comments: