Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Atlanta Motor Speedway Facts: Kobalt Tools 500 Odds & Ends

by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media Services

At Atlanta Motor Speedway:

* Originally called Atlanta International Raceway, the track was then a 1.5-mile paved speedway.
* The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Atlanta was on July 31, 1960, won by Fireball Roberts from the pole.
* The track was re-measured to 1.522 miles in the spring of 1970.
* It was renamed Atlanta Motor Speedway in 1990.
* The track layout was reversed and the track was re-configured to 1.54 miles between the two races in 1997.

* There have been 101 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Atlanta Speedway, two races per year except 1961, which had three.
* Fireball Roberts won the pole and race for the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race in 1960.
* 44 drivers have won a pole, led by Buddy Baker and Ryan Newman, each with seven.
* Six of Newman’s seven poles came in consecutive races between March 2003 and October 2005.
* 42 drivers have won a race; 22 have won more than once, including Kurt Busch, who won the first race last season. In that event, Busch scored a perfect Driver Rating of 150.0.
* Dale Earnhardt scored nine victories, more than any other driver. Cale Yarborough is second with seven.
* Bobby Labonte heads the list of active drivers with victories, with six. Labonte is tied with Richard Petty for third on the all-time win list at Atlanta.
* The Wood Brothers are the most productive car owners with 12 victories. They last won there in 1993 with Morgan Shepherd.
* 14 races have been won from the pole. The last to do so was Kasey Kahne in 2006. Both races last season were won from the second starting position.
* 58 races at Atlanta have been won from the first five starting positions.
* Bobby Labonte won the 2001 fall race from the 39th starting position, the deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Atlanta.
* There have been seven season sweeps, most recently by Jimmie Johnson in 2007.

NASCAR in Georgia
* There have been 160 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Georgia.
* 169 NASCAR national series drivers all-time have their home state recorded as Georgia.
* There have been 14 race winners from Georgia in NASCAR’s three national series.

Atlanta Motor Speedway Data
Race # 4 of 36 (3-7-10)
Track Size: 1.54 miles
Race Length: 325 laps/500.5 miles
· Banking/Corners: 24 degrees
· Banking/Straights: 5 degrees
· Frontstretch: 2,332 feet
· Backstretch: 1,800 feet

Driver Rating at Atlanta
Jimmie Johnson 110.1
Carl Edwards 105.0
Jeff Gordon 102.2
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 99.8
Tony Stewart 98.6
Matt Kenseth 95.4
Greg Biffle 95.0
Kurt Busch 93.4
Denny Hamlin 93.2
Kyle Busch 90.3
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2009 races (10 total) at Atlanta.

Qualifying/Race Data
2009 pole winner: Mark Martin (187.045 mph, 29.640 secs.)
2009 race winner: Kurt Busch (127.573 mph, 3-8-09)
Track qualifying record: Geoffrey Bodine (197.478 mph, 28.074 secs., 11-15-97)
Race record: Dale Earnhardt (163.633 mph, 11-16-97)

Estimated Pit Window: Every 48-52 laps, based on fuel mileage.

No comments: