Monday, March 22, 2010

Martinsville Speedway Facts: Goody's Headache Powder 500

compiled by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media Services

At Martinsville Speedway:

· Opened in September 1947 by H. Clay Earles, Martinsville, originally a dirt track, is one of the oldest continuously-operating race tracks in the United States.
· The first NASCAR-sanctioned race at Martinsville was on July 4, 1948.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was Sept. 25, 1949.
· The track was paved in 1955.
· The first 500-lap event at Martinsville was in 1956.
· Concrete corners were added atop asphalt in 1976.

· There have been 122 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Martinsville Speedway, one in the inaugural year and two races per year since 1950.
· Curtis Turner won the pole for the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Martinsville in 1949.
· Red Byron won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
· 55 drivers have won poles, led by Darrell Waltrip with eight. Jeff Gordon, with seven poles, can tie that mark this weekend.
· Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin and Darrell Waltrip share the consecutive pole record, each with three.
· 45 different drivers have won, led by Richard Petty’s 15.
· Jeff Gordon leads active drivers with seven wins. Jimmie Johnson has six.
· 18 races have been won from the pole, the last by Jimmie Johnson in October 2008.
· Petty Enterprises has won 19 races, more than any other organization. Hendrick Motorsports, with 18 wins, can tie that mark this weekend.
· Kurt Busch won the 2002 fall race from the 36th starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started.
· Three active drivers average a top-10: Jimmie Johnson (5.1), Jeff Gordon (6.8), Denny Hamlin (7.2).
· The last three races that have ended under green have had a margin of victory under one second.

Martinsville Speedway Data
Race #: 6 of 36 (3-28-10)
Track Size: .526 mile
Race Length: 500 laps/263 miles
· Banking/Corners: 12 degrees
· Banking/Straights: 0 degrees
· Frontstretch: 800 feet
· Backstretch: 800 feet

Driver Rating at Martinsville
Jimmie Johnson 125.5
Jeff Gordon 123.0
Tony Stewart 112.5
Denny Hamlin 109.1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 98.8
Kevin Harvick 90.8
Kyle Busch 89.7
Mark Martin 87.5
Jamie McMurray 87.5
Juan Pablo Montoya 87.4
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2009 races (10 total) at Martinsville Speedway.

Qualifying/Race Data
2009 pole winner: None (inclement weather)
2009 race winner: Jimmie Johnson, 75.938 mph, 3-29-09)
Track qualifying record: Tony Stewart (98.083 mph, 19.306 secs., 10-21-05)
Race record: Jeff Gordon (82.223 mph, 9-22-96)

Estimated Pit Window: Every 140-150 laps, based on fuel mileage.

NASCAR in Virginia
* There have been 266 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in Virginia.
* 158 drivers in NASCAR’s three national series (all-time) have their home state recorded as Virginia.
* There have been 18 race winners from Virginia in NASCAR’s three national series:

No comments: