Wednesday, June 24, 2009

New Hampshire Facts

compiled by Mike Forde
NASCAR Media services

At New Hampshire Motor Speedway:
• Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was Aug. 13, 1989.
• The official opening was June 5, 1990 with the first race being a NASCAR Nationwide Series race on July 15, 1990.
• The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on July 11, 1993.
• The first NASCAR Camping World Truck series race was on Sept. 9, 1996.
• The track was renamed New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2008.

• There have been 28 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since.
• Four drivers have competed in all 27 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.
• Mark Martin won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole.
• Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.
• There have been 15 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman (four). Qualifying has been canceled four times.
• 18 different drivers have posted victories, led by Jeff Burton (four).
• Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004) are the only drivers that have posted season sweeps. Those are also the only back-to-back winners.
• Roush Fenway Racing has won seven races, more than any other organization.
• 15 of 28 races have been won from the top-10 starting positions, including four from the pole.
• The deepest in the field that a New Hampshire race winner started was 38th, by Jeff Burton in 1999.
• There has been one postponed/rescheduled race at New Hampshire. The 2001 fall race was run as the season finale in November, after being rescheduled following the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.
• There have been eight different pole winners in the past nine New Hampshire races (qualifying was canceled once in the nine-race period).
• There have been seven different race winners in the past seven New Hampshire races.
• There have been three shortened races at New Hampshire: July 2002 (273 laps), September 2002 (207) and June 2008 (284).
• Jeff Burton led all 300 laps raced in the 2000 fall race.
• Clint Bowyer led 222 laps and scored a perfect Driver Rating of 150.0 in the 2007 fall New Hampshire race.

No comments: